News Pensacola Politics

City Council Shuffle

November 26, 2012

The Pensacola City Council will see four new members seated tomorrow. Winners of this year’s election—including the council’s senior member, P.C. Wu, who ran unopposed—will be sworn in to office at noon.

A special council meeting is scheduled for 11:45 at Pensacola City Hall. After recognizing outgoing members—President Sam Hall, Vice President Ronald Townsend, John Jerralds and Maren DeWeese—the council will bring aboard the new members. In addition to Wu (District 1), there is Andy Terhar in District 3, Gerald Wingate in District 5, Jewel Canada-Wynn in District 7 and Charles Bare in an At-Large seat.

Following the oath of office for new members, the council will elect its president and vice president. The meeting will conclude with remarks from Mayor Ashton Hayward.

The new council’s next scheduled meeting is a Committee of the Whole on Dec. 10.

You Might Also Like