Escambia County Council of PTA announces 2017 Awards

May 17, 2017

The Escambia County Council of Parent and Teacher Association (ECCPTA) held their annual awards ceremony at Heritage Hall in Pensacola on May 12. The gathering included Council officers, Escambia County School Superintendent Malcolm Thomas and School Board members Patty Hightower and Kevin Adams, members of individual school PTAs and PTSAs (Parent, Teacher and Student Associations) as well as County Commissioner Jeff Bergosh.

Superintendent Thomas thanked the ECCPTA for their continued stellar support of local schools, teachers and students.

“Thirty one chapters raised over $865,000 this year and performed over 78,000 community service hours this year,” announced ECCPTA President Michelle Salzman.

Award presenters shared story after story of the outstanding events and programs various chapters have conducted this school year. A few standouts included Cordova Park Elementary School’s four week-long, school wide STEAM (Science, technology, Engineering, Art and Math) programs that won the Innovations Award.

Florida State PTA President Cindy Gerhardt was on hand to bring greetings to her Escambia County friends. She was also pleased to hear that the ECCPTA had created a new award named for her state-wide initiative, All Children Matter. “ALL children matter,” she explained, “Not just children in schools with active PTAs.”

N.B. Cook Elementary School won the new “All Children Matter” award for their program that selected a different school to support in special ways each month.

The other awards were:

Outstanding Program of the Year – Primary: Beulah Elementary School

Outstanding Program of the Year – Secondary: Jim Bailey Middle School

Communications Excellence – Primary: Beulah Elementary School

Communications Excellence – Secondary: Ferry Pass Middle School

Outstanding Principal of the Year – Primary: Dr. Tama Vaughn

Outstanding Principal of the Year – Secondary: Sherri Mims, Ferry Pass Middle School

Unit of the Year: Pensacola Beach Elementary School

Volunteer of the Year – Primary: Amy Diaz, Pleasant Grove Elementary School

Volunteer of the Year – Secondary: Lisa Foster, Ferry Pass Middle School

Diversity & Inclusion Award: McArthur Elementary School

Mentor a PTA Award: McArthur Elementary School
(Mentored West Pensacola Elementary School’s new PTA)

Outstanding Newsletter of the Year: Cordova Park Elementary School

Outstanding Yearbook: Lipscomb Elementary School

Citizen of the Year Award: Dennis Mills

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Read This Before Leaving a Comment

Please make sure your comments follow our guidelines:

  • Please use real name - first and last names.
  • No foul language (please). Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Do not threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Email Rick: The comment will be deleted asap.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person
  • Remember, this is my site. I set the rules and reserve the right to remove any comments that I deem inappropriate and to ban anyone who violates these rules.

Comments that do not adhere will be deleted or marked as SPAM.