Bus union endorses Valentino and Lowery

Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1395 which represents the Escambia County Area Transit and Escambia County Community Transportation workers and Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1771 which represents the classified blue collar County workers under the Board of County Commissioners, Escambia County have endorsed Gene Valentino for County Commission, District 2 and Mike Lowery for County Commission, District 4.

In a press release from the ATU Local: “After a very intense process of answering a combined questionnaire from both Local Unions and then being screened individually by a screening committee made up of representatives from both Local Unions, which were made up of both Republican and Democrat Union members the screening committee, they made recommendations to their respective Executive Boards of each Local Union.”

Union representatives said that all four candidates in District 2 participated in the screening process. However County Commissioner Grover Robinson declined to participate in the screening process for the District 4 seat. His opponent heads the ECAT union.

“Commissioner Valentino clearly was the candidate in District 2 who understood the issues facing transit and blue collar county workers. His ideas and plan to help further mass transit is exciting to the benefit of connecting to economic development and job growth, plus he understood the importance of County worker needs for safe reliable equipment and training.” -Bobby Nigh, President of Local 1771 and screening committee member.

“We’re very proud to endorse our President of ATU Local 1395 Mike Lowery a candidate for County Commissioner District 4. He is without a doubt a huge advocate for working families in Escambia County and will bring his passion for serving for the working class to the County Commission. He understands mass transit issues and County worker needs more than any of the candidates running for County Commission.” -Joe Herrin, Senior Vice President of Local 1395 and screening committee Chairman.