Five PSC students named to 2017 All-Florida Academic Team

Today, the Florida Department of Education announced that 16 Panhandle college students from the Florida College System have been named to the 2017 All-Florida Academic Team. Statewide, 127 students are being honored for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership and service to their communities.

“I am pleased to congratulate each of these students on receiving this tremendous honor and to thank them for the dedication they have shown to their schools and communities,” said Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart. “Florida College System institutions do an excellent job providing students with educational opportunities that lead to life-long success, and this accomplishment highlights that hard work.”

Earning a spot on the All-Florida Academic Team affords students additional scholarship opportunities at Florida universities. Additionally, these students are considered for scholarships sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, ranging in value from $1,000 – $5,000, which students can use to continue their education anywhere in the nation.

“I’m excited to congratulate this group of outstanding scholars who have excelled in their studies and earned a place on the 2017 All-Florida Academic Team,” said Division of Florida Colleges Chancellor Madeline Pumariega. “This is a prestigious honor, and I look forward to recognizing all of these students at the awards ceremony.”

Listed below are the students enrolled in Panhandle colleges who are being recognized as members of the 2017 All-Florida Academic Team.

Pensacola State College
Shaina Busby
Katherine Casperson
Kristina Jacques
James Rutger
Teri Vandenberg

Gulf Coast State College
David Holmes
Alleah Johnson

Northwest Florida State College
Macayla Abercrombie
Ashley Archer
Harrison Blount
Bradley Cochrane
Joanna Lara
Morgan Masek
Paul Swanson
Emily Summers
Cameron Wakeland

Chancellor Pumariega will recognize the members of the 2017 All-Florida Academic Team at an awards ceremony on April 7, 2017 in Tallahassee. To view full listing of student team members, click here.