Go, Judy, go

Press Release: UWF President appointed to NCAA Division II Presidents Council –
University of West Florida (UWF) President Judith A. Bense has been elected as the Region 2 representative of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II Presidents Council, effective immediately. Her term will expire January 2016.

“It’s a great honor to have been elected to the Division II Presidents Council,” Bense said. “Many important issues impact athletics in Division II, and I’m looking forward to serving on this Council with my colleagues to serve the best interests of our student-athletes.”

The Council is a 15-member panel of presidents and other leaders from Division II institutions that serves as the chief governing body for Division II athletics. Its responsibilities include ratifying, amending or rescinding actions of the Division II Management Council, developing and approving budgets and expenditures, and implementing policies and procedures pertaining to Division II athletics. There are 300 schools nationwide in Division II.

Bense and Michael G. Scales, president of Nyack College, replace Dorothy Leland, who recently assumed another presidency at a non-NCAA member institution, and Phil Gerdino, who is retiring.

Other members of the NCAA Division II roster are: Drew Brogner (Molloy College), Mickey L. Burnim (Bowie State University), F. Javier Cevallos (Kutztown University of Pennsylvania), James L. Gaudino (Central Washington University), Thomas J. Haas (Grand Valley State University), Dianne F. Harrison (California State University, Monterey Bay), Carolyn R. Mahoney (Lincoln University, Missouri), Ernest McNealey (Stillman College), Nancy Moody (Tusculum College), J. Patrick O’Brien (West Texas A&M University), Judith Ramaley (Winona State University), David F. Rankin (Southern Arkansas University), Albert Walker (Bluefield State College).