Lewis Bear, Jr. named chairman of UWF Board of Trustees

Today, the University of West Florida Board of Trustees voted to name Trustee Lewis Bear, Jr. Chairman of the Board and Trustee Mort O’Sullivan vice chairman for the next two years, effective January 2013.

Additionally, President Bense made a recommendation to the Board to name both current Chairman General Charles Horner, RET and Trustee J. Collier Merrill, Chair Emeritus, honoring their extraordinary service and contributions to the University.

“It is impossible to describe the role that Chairman Horner and Trustee Merrill have played at UWF,” said President Bense. “They have provided encouragement, vision, guidance and protection in untold ways. Both of these distinguished members of our Board of Trustees have served as institutional history for new board members and through three presidents. Their contributions over the years have been steadfast.”

Both Trustees will retire from the Board in January, and both have served on the Board since its creation. Chairman Horner and Trustee Merrill are the last two incipient members of the UWF Board of Trustees. Trustee Merrill served as the first chairman of the University of West Florida Board of Trustees and Chairman Horner served as the third chairman.

The same recognition was previously extended to KC Clark, the second chairman of UWF Board of Trustees, when he left the Board.

In addition, President Bense brought forward two resolutions for distinguished service for Chairman Horner and Trustee Merrill.