Valentino Earns FAC’s ACC

gene valentinoEscambia County Commission Chairman Gene Valentino has been presented with the Advanced County Commissioner (ACC) designation by the Florida Association of Counties. The designation follows the commissioner’s completion of a comprehensive study program developed by the association.

“I am delighted to be recognized by FAC as one of the 13 ACC designees this year,” said Escambia County Commissioner Gene Valentino in a county statement.  “The ACC provides excellent resources for advancing representatives’ education and I look forward to continuing to work through the program and learning more in the future.”

The ACC program was launched in 2006. Dubbed ‘The Florida Forum for County Leaders,’ the program is designed for graduates of the Certified County Commissioners (CCC) program. This year, the program was held in Alachua County, and graduated 14 commissioners.

“This certification allows our citizen electorate to become experts in county government improving their communities,” said FAC Executive Director Chris Holley. “Through FAC’s education programs we are able to teach commissioners how to advance their policies through the complexities of government bureaucracies.”

The ACC program consist of a series of three seminars, with 27 hours of course work. Seminars include: Leadership in these Turbulent and Transformative Times; Leading Your Communities During Turbulent Times; and, Understanding and Working with Stakeholders and County Makers.

Valentino received the designation during an awards ceremony at the FAC Annual Conference in Hillsborough County, Fla. in June. The Escambia commission chairman was joined by the rest of this year’s graduating ACC class:  Jimmy Anderson, Baker County; Betsy Barfield, Jefferson County; Kathy Braynt, Marion County; Paulette Burdick, Palm Beach County; Pam Feagle, Taylor County; Chip LaMarca, Broward County; Ward McDaniel, Gulf County; John R. Nelson, Sr., Jefferson County; Dave Parisot, Okaloosa County; Jim Selph, DeSoto County; Barbara Sharief, Broward County; Tynalin Smiley, Gulf County; Cark Zalak, Marion County.