FEMA: Florida Panhandle Counties Now Eligible for Federal Disaster Assistance

Survivors in Escambia and Santa Rosa counties who sustained property damage as a result of the recent severe storms and flooding in Florida are urged to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency, as they may be eligible for disaster assistance.

Disaster survivors have several ways to apply:

• By phone at 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
• Online at DisasterAssistance.gov any time day or night.
• Via smartphone or tablet at m.fema.gov.

Assistance can include money for temporary housing and home repairs, and for other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration may also be available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Survivors should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but under-insured applicants may receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Registering with FEMA is required for federal aid, even if the person has registered with another disaster-relief organization. Applicants will be asked for the following information:

• Social Security number
• Address of the damaged home or apartment
• Description of the damage
• Information about insurance coverage
• A current contact telephone number
• An address where they can receive mail
• Bank account and routing numbers for direct deposit of funds.

For more information on Florida disaster recovery, click fema.gov/disaster/4177. Visit the Florida Division of Emergency Management website at floridadisaster.org or Facebook page at facebook.com/FloridaSERT.